Study Visa
For foreigners accepted by a South African learning institution.
- Main fee
- ZAR 425
- Money to show
- Not stated on pages we read
- Decision time
- 60 days
Last checked 3 Nov 2026
Official points and wordingThe same published facts for everyone: who each route is for, the main fee, the money to show and how long a decision takes. Open a route for the official wording and every source.
Information, not immigration advice. These are general summaries from official pages; always confirm there before you pay or apply.
Figures below are what we have quoted from official pages. “Not stated” means we have not recorded a quote yet — it is not a pass or fail.
For foreigners accepted by a South African learning institution.
Last checked 3 Nov 2026
Official points and wordingLets a corporate entity employ a set number of foreign workers.
Last checked 4 Nov 2026
Official points and wordingFor foreign workers when no suitable South African citizen or permanent resident is available.
Last checked 3 Nov 2026
Official points and wordingFor employees moved from a foreign branch of a company to its South African branch.
Last checked 3 Nov 2026
Official points and wordingFor people whose occupation is on the Critical Skills List.
Last checked 3 Nov 2026
Official points and wordingFor foreigners investing in or starting a business in South Africa.
Last checked 3 Nov 2026
Official points and wordingFor close family members of South African citizens or permanent residents; work is not allowed.
Last checked 3 Nov 2026
Official points and wordingPermanent residence on grounds such as work offer, critical skills, business, retirement, financial independence or being a relative or spouse.
Last checked 4 Nov 2026
Official points and wordingFor people who want to retire in South Africa and meet the financial requirements.
Last checked 3 Nov 2026
Official points and wording8 more types from the official pages. Some have no quoted facts yet.
About this list. Main work, study, family, visitor, business, retirement, corporate and permanent-residence routes have quoted screening facts from dha.gov.za (checked through 2026-11-04). Hub is ScreeningHub (indexed). Entertainment, exchange, medical, Trusted Employer Scheme, LEP and ZEP stay thinner; refugee/asylum is official-link only. Business capital contribution and the retired-person R37 000 monthly vs net-worth wording still need a browser check.
For young foreigners in approved cultural, economic or social exchange programmes.
Not yet checked against your profileFor employers who are checked and approved in advance so they can use a simpler process to bring in skilled foreign workers.
Not yet checked against your profileFor people from visa-required countries who work in the entertainment industry for no more than six months, on a visitor's visa with permission to work.
Not yet checked against your profileA page of official notices about exemption permits for Lesotho nationals.
Not yet checked against your profileFor foreigners receiving medical treatment in South Africa; work is not allowed.
Not yet checked against your profileA page of official notices about exemption permits for Zimbabwean nationals.
Not yet checked against your profileFor tourism or business visits of short stays by foreigners who need a visa.
3 official requirements recordedListed with official links only. For help with a protection claim, contact the official service or a regulated adviser.
For people who fled their country of origin and ask South Africa to recognise and protect them as refugees.
Not yet checked against your profileThe free check compares your answers with the published minimums for routes we have reviewed, including South Africa.
Start the free check